Ama Ata Aidoo

Ama Ata Aidoo is a poet, novelist and playwright.  She has been writing for over sixty years.  She is the author of The Dilemma of A Ghost; Anowa; Our Sister Killjoy; No Sweetness Here; Someone Talking to Sometime; Changes; An Angry Letter in January; The Girl Who Can and Other Stories; Diplomatic Pounds; and After the Ceremonies: New and Selected Poems. 

Her children’s books are The Days; The Eagle, the Chicken and Other Stories and Birds and Other Poems. She is the recipient of many awards including The Gurrey Prize for Poetry; the Nelson Mandela Award for Poetry and the Commonwealth Writers Prize.

She is the recipient of honorary degrees from the University of Ghana at Legon and Mount Holyoke College, and is co-named for the Aidoo-Synder Book Prize.  She is a recipient of Ghana's National Honor: Member of the Order of the Volta (Civil Division). She founded Mbaasem Foundation, a foundation to promote the work of Ghanaian and African women writers.

Ama Ata Aidoo has taught in colleges and universities in Ghana and the United States.


Ake Festival 2017

14-18 November, 2017

Register Online Now to Get 25% off Registration Fee.




* indicates required